Massachusetts Paid Family and Medical Leave – Notifying Your Employees
Soon to be put in effect the Massachusetts Paid Family and Medical Leave (PMFL) law establishes a system for paid family leave of up to 12 weeks to care for a family member, and up to 20 weeks for your own illness. The tax that pays for the leave pool begins in October 2019, and leave will be available beginning in 2021.
On October 1st, 2019 payroll withholdings will begin, requiring employers to make deductions from wages and payments for services, for Massachusetts W-2 employees and Massachusetts 1099-MISC contractors, at a 0.75% contribution rate.
The PFML law also requires employers and covered business entities to notify their workforce of the state’s PFML program by September 30, 2019. They must do so in the following ways:
- Displaying the Paid Family and Medical Leave workplace poster in a highly visible location
- Providing written notice of contributions, benefits, and workforce protections to Massachusetts W-2 employees and Massachusetts 1099-MISC contractors
- Collecting signed acknowledgements of receipt of such notice from Massachusetts W-2 employees and Massachusetts 1099-MISC contractors
If you already provide a paid leave benefit to your workforce, you may be eligible to receive an exemption from collecting, remitting, and paying contributions for paid family or medical leave under the state’s PFML law. However, the benefits offered by your approved private plan must be greater than or equal to the benefits provided by the PFML law to be granted an exemption.
If you are a self-employed individual you are not required to participate in the state’s PFML program. Though you may elect to purchase coverage.
For full information, resources, and to learn how these changes affect your business, visit the Paid Family and Medical Leave for Massachusetts employers guide at the Mass.gov website.